cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Denialator03
Asteroid

S7 active data roaming issue after Oreo update

JUMP TO SOLUTION

I'm a Canadian truck driver that has an (unlocked) S7 Active (on T-Mobile) that I've recently upgraded to Oreo via Odin. The phone works better than ever except now when I'm in Canada, data no longer works properly. I say properly because every once in a while it will connect long enough to receive a few emails then will disconnect again. But most of the time it just doesn't connect. The data roaming worked perfectly on Nougat (BRA7). 

Here's what i've done so far:

Flashed Oreo (CRE7) via Odin 3.13.1

Factory reset via recovery

Cleared Cache via recovery

Data doesn't connect properly.

Downloaded CRE7 again in case it was a bad download. 

Repeated the flashing, factory reset, and clearing of the cache just in case something went wrong.

Data still not working properly.

Restarted phone, cycled airplane mode, #766#

Bought a new SIM thinking that may be the problem. But no change with the data.

And yes mobile data and international data are turned on in the phone.

When I flashed the phone I was at home in Canada. So I thought maybe it would have to connect to a T-Mobile tower to get the proper network settings. So on my next trip to the US, the data worked perfectly in the US once it connected to a T-mobile tower. But once back in Canada it stopped working.

When I manually try to switch to a Canadian network (Bell, Telus or Rogers), I will get the message "Disconnect Network... Unable to search for networks while data service is in use. Stop using current data service and search for other available networks?" which is weird because the phone isn't connected to data.

Any of the sim card apps i've used show the network type as being LTE though, but there's no data on the phone.

What am i missing?

1 SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Denialator03
Asteroid

Re: S7 active data roaming issue after Oreo update