cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
user2qsIAmg9Yu
Asteroid

Compass will not stay calibrated

The compass on my S10 will not stay calibrated.  When I calibrate it, is says "compass calibrated", and when I check it, it says compass accuracy:  high.  But a little while later, the accuracy will read "medium" and then "low".  This is a serious problem for me, because I rely on Googly Maps to travel to all my gigs (I'm a full-time musician) - Google Maps is going crazy while I drive, because the compass is completely off.  

I noticed this shortly after I bought the phone a couple of months ago.  I assumed it was a software problem, but I've updated the OS and Google Maps several times.  I've uninstalled the Google Maps updates and reinstalled them.  I've rebooted the phone many times.  Same problem with the compass.

Could this be an internal hardware problem?  HELP!!

10 REPLIES 10

Re: Compass will not stay calibrated

Have you tried to clear cache and data on the Google maps? also, I recommend trying this app called here we go, and you can download the route, and give it a try next and and see if it's doing the same issue. I will put a link in here. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.here.app.maps

Samsung Care Ambassador

Google Maps primarily relies on GPS not the internal compass. Your position is determined by the GPS. AFAIK, Maps only uses the compass to point the arrow (if it even uses it then). So if compass is not working, it shouldn't have much impact on Google Maps. 

user2qsIAmg9Yu
Asteroid