cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Astronaut

List of unacceptable camera issues - We need a response, Samsung

I'm a pro photographer and was hoping to see a big boost upgrading from the Note 9 to the S20 Ultra.  So far the experience has been miserable and now i'm wishing I wouldn't have sent my Note 9 back, which is pretty ridiculous for 1) a $1400 phone and 2) two years of tech advancement and development.

Here are my key concerns-  

• "Warning - Camera Failed" nearly every single time i open the camera app and take an image.  Doesn't matter which camera is selected (normal, ultrawide, telephoto).  Waiting for the app to force-close and then relaunching works, but 95% of the time I either miss the shot or get so fed up that I abandon the idea altogether.  This is absolutely unacceptable.  
  • Image quality is considerably worse than the Note 9.  Images are postprocessed to heck- fine details are smeared by noise reduction and then overly sharpened/clarity-boosted to look like flat JPEG messes.  Skin looks like plastic.  There's no depth or nuance to the images, at best they look like point and shoot snapshots from 10 years ago.  We need to be able to have some control over the amount of processing on our images.  "Use pro mode" is not an answer.  I need to be able to quickly open the camera and take a decent shot, not fiddle with settings for 30 seconds.  
  • HDR processing ruins most images.  The white point is not set properly, and comes out looking BLUE generally.  On landscapes and shots that include the sky for example, colors are way too saturated and the tone mapping is garish and way overdone.  Really bad halos around areas of high contrast.  
  • Autofocus, as many have already outlined.  Half my still images are back-focused.