Original topic:

Issue with pass keys

(Topic created: 03-21-2024 12:56 PM)
Nagisa11
Asteroid
Options
Galaxy S24
I've been using pass keys on my phone's for a couple years now. I recently switched from my Pixel 6 pro to a Galaxy S24 Ultra. For some reason despite the fact that Google is set as one of the apps that my phone get past keys from The ones saved in my Google account never show up. I was able to save a couple to my Samsung account, but now when I try to use passkeys it just tells me I have none saved. When I tried to use my S24 Ultra to unlock an account on my laptop it kept erroring out. Has anyone else had this happen before? This is the kind of thing where if passkeys are going to be the next big thing that will replace passwords it really does need to work. Also Samsung, why is Samsung pass the only option for pass keys on this phone, I know I have several saved in Google even an old Huawei phone imported from China managed to figure this out.
10 Replies
Members_7WmZ5VS
Constellation
Options
Galaxy S24

Hopefully they can fix this quickly as I just switched to the Galaxy 24 Ultra and I use pass keys with everything. I had no issues when I was using an iPhone but now the feature just times out. 

Nagisa11
Asteroid
Options
Galaxy S24
After doing a bit of digging and asking about it on one passwords forum it seems like part of the issue is app developers. There's a bit of a disconnect between the newer standards being implemented in Android devices and the old ones. The old one could only use Google's password manager to store pass keys so apps that still use that like Firefox and Chrome by default will only check Google. The newer ones used across Samsung's other products and that can be enabled in Chrome check other apps like Samsung pass or other password managers that support passkeys
userYKW3cQCtj0
Constellation
Options
Galaxy S24