cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Netintegrity
Constellation

GPS not working when under Android auto / Car Power - How I finally resolved it!

This is probably a long post - but I would like others to know, that may be experiencing similar issues.

First of all I have an S8 (purchased new) - kept with the same carrier all its life. Unit is basically stock - e.g. no modifications, not rooted.

I have had smartphones since 2005, and Android since 2011 (I suspect I have had Android earlier - but not trying for an ego trip - just point out I am not a newbie, and after 36 years in IT - at the coal face - no dummy in the diagnostics dept either)

Besides normal email, it has been used with Android Auto, combined with Google Maps or Waze for the last two years....the occasional issue mostly resolved by forum posts such as clearing the cache, checking certain settings for location etc.

Typically I have a 30km drive to work and back again in open terrain, so I have been able to run a series of tests, changing one thing each night, and testing for 60Km the next day.

However 4 weeks ago (appeared to be after the September 2019 security update), both Google Maps and Waze became unusuable due to the constant loss of GPS signal...it would appear to get a lock, then lose it 5 seconds later. Let it run like this for a week - defintely no improvements...over this time,  powered down the phone, read the forums on others that are having the issue.

So for the next three weeks, I ran some tests as time allowed.

1) Many of the posts on various forums basically said the GPS has gone faulty. Confirmed this was not the case using ChartCross GPS test. Tested it at multiple locations, including during the drives two and from work. No noticable loss of GPS....in most cases showing 26 sateliites most of the time, using 25 of them (listing the peak figures, but they did not go much lower than that. 

Conditions

a) Android Auto App disabled or exited