cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cmtechnical
Asteroid

Samsung Galaxy S8+ Do Not Disturb / Custom / Messages - set to NONE, lets all Texts notify through.

JUMP TO SOLUTION

Samsung Galaxy S8+ / Carrier: Verizon / Messaging App:  Default Samsung Messages

Hello. I am a tech, so I don't post this lightly. I see from my research, 2 hours on the phone with Verizon, and another directly with Samsung technical support, that there appears a serious issue, with Do Not Disturb, not functioning properly in Custom Settings. The option most chosen here, is to let Favorite Contacts telephone (and ring) through...  and Favorite Contacts message through (with audio notification of course).  So, the telephone portion of this option works fine, i.e. - non-favorited contacts won't wake you up... (or get through the audio firewall).

The problem is, the filration is NOT working. ALL messages notify through with sound - even when the option in Do Not Disturb (DND) is set to NONE.  Within the default Samsung Messages App, there is also an option to let DND Custom Messages notify through, but - no matter how this is set, messages who are NOT FAVORITES, continue to ring through. I have tired replacing Samsung Messages with Google Messages, and the behavior is exactly the same.

In a nutshell, DND works for calls, but NOT for text messages, when set to CUSTOM / Favorite Contacts Only - for each. There are a couple of old threads on this, but I see no clear resolution on them...  I have done a lot of testing, and am now at a loss how on to proceed further. Any advice or assistance greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading.

1 SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
cmtechnical
Asteroid

Re: Samsung Galaxy S8+ Do Not Disturb / Custom / Messages - set to NONE, lets all Texts notify th...

JUMP TO SOLUTION

Hello,