cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Constellation

AV input not working

I am an electronics technician who use to repair Samsung TVs at PTS/Moduslink (knowledgable).

I am trying to connect my piano keyboard to my home theater sound system. It works if I plug into the aux input at the surround sound decoder, but that is 35 feet further away from my piano than my Samsung UN65RU7300F TV. I tried to plug the piano into the audio jacks of the Component input on the TV but there was no source choice for component/composite, so I could imagine that the electronics would require an RS-180a signal before it would provide the Composite input as a source choice. I looked around to find something that outputs this video signal, finally I found an old RF convertor and plugged its video signal in. There still was no choice for Composite so I thought perhaps the convertor was broken. I looked inside the convertor and it was looking OK, so I try this again. This time I plugged in both the video signal AND the audio jacks from the piano, and now there is a choice for AV input as a source, but upon selecting it the audio is not passed through the TV.

There are two issues here.

First I believe the component/composite input jacks on the TV have small micro-switches on them and it is these switches that enable the AV input as a choice to show in the Source list. This is how the TV 'knows' the input is present and whether it is composite or component. Is that right?