cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
userXQnxBC9sFK
Constellation

Disappointing First Experience with Samsung Support - Family Hub

Over the weekend I purchased a 28 Cubmit ft Samsung Family Hub refrigerator from our local retailer (approx $4000 retail).  I was excited to install and work with all the bells and whistles on this unit (RF28N9780SG/AA) as I work as a software engineer in the tech field.  Unfortunately I could not be more disappointed with the highly touted tech features (specifically related to the mobile app and the Family Hub).

First off, I installed the lated firmware on the refrigerator, and rebooted.  I added two users (one for me and one for my wife) and tested out the voice commands.  Everything thus far worked great. However, when it came to the mobile apps, everything started to fall apart. 

A flyer included with the refrigerator suggested installing the "Smart Home" app--which currently has a 1 star rating.  I have several other Samsung devices (OLED and QLED TVs, Soundbars, etc.) that all use the SmartThings app, so I was suprised to have to install yet another app--but I did.  Unfortunately, I could never get my refrigerator to connect using this app.

I then installed the "Family Hub" app and tried installing the refrigerator, and came to the section which required me to provide my phone number so that I could receive an authorization code.  However, the code was never sent to my phone.  After two consecutive retries (of resending the code), I got a "Daily SMS limit reached" message.

I went into my Samsung account and verified that all my information (i.e. email, phone number, etc.) was current.  I also waited till the following day to try receiving the authorization code again, but I never received one.  I also tried using the SmartThings app, and was able to at least communicate with the refrigerator, but was never able to get the Family Hub service to work.