Where to go from here

Pilot

Where to go from here

As a devoted Samsung user myself, I thought what better but to ask fellow "Samsungers" as you know the real sh*$. I am old school and didn't grow up with.... blah blah blah. You've heard it all before. My current phone is an S5. I like it due to the quality of pictures I receive. I am an artist, turning photographer, and have had great success so far. BUT. I am aware that I must move onto bigger and better things. Isn't that the American way? So the question of the day is: To What? Mind you, I don't want to hear any Apple crap. It's out of the question. I need to know your opinion on which phone to get that enables me to put out (Smiley Surprised) the best photos without having to read a 3" instruction manual. I appreciate all the wonderful, knowledgeable advice you can give me.
2 REPLIES
Cosmic Ray

Re: Where to go from here

[ Edited ]

I upgraded from the S5 to the S7 and there is a significant improvement with the new Dual Pixel technology in the camera and low-light quality albeit at the expense of going from a 16 megapixel to a 12 megapixel sensor. The S8 has essentially the same camera on back (https://news.samsung.com/global/in-depth-look-fast-fun-and-in-focus-the-galaxy-s8-camera). The real upgrade is with the Note 8 running a dual camera set up both with OIS (https://news.samsung.com/global/in-depth-look-2-redefining-mobile-photography-the-camera-of-the-gala...

But that's a very expensive upgrade right now, unless you can find a screaming holiday deal. Other Android phones with stellar cameras include Google Pixel 2 XL, HTC U11, LG V30 and G6. But if you're happy with your Samsung experience you can't go wrong with the camera on the S7, S8, or Note 8. I think it depends on if you need or value a dual camera set up for what you do. 

Constellation

Re: Where to go from here