cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BabuMan
Asteroid

Notification sound plays even when phone is in Vibrate or Silent mode

This is really annoying.  I put my phone on silent mode when I am in office meetings or when I am asleep or when I am in a movie theatre etc.  My Note 9 seems to have its own mind when to turn on sound for notification.  I don't have a clue what makes it turn on sound when I have intentionally turned it off.

I have combed through internet and this forum for a resolution.  I saw couple of people saying that going to "settings->Apps->Special Access->Notification Access" and turning Google off.  But on my phone I don't see Google in the Notification Access screen.  I only see Google VR Service and nothing else that starts with the word "Google".  I did turn or Google VR Service not did not work.  

My phone is updated with all the latest updates I was notified about.

As a software developer myself, I think this is totally irresponsible attitude.  I have seen this exact problem I am reporting about, as way back as May 2019 from other members of this forum.  Yet no fix?

My Model No: SM-N960F

Baseband Version: N960FXXS3CSG1

Service Provider: T-Moble (USA)

Last update from both Samsung and T-Mobile is applied in August, 2019.

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Notification sound plays even when phone is in Vibrate or Silent mode

Ok. How are you muting your sounds?  There are several ways of doing it.

If you want total silence, pull down menu from the home page, click the button that looks like a speaker with sounds waves. 1st click silence, but vibrates. 2nd click silence, no vibrate. 3rd click back to normal. 

If you're hitting the do not disturb button, that will mute only what is set for silence. Settings > notifications > do not disturb. Here, you can set things on a timer setting. To block for example, email overnight or block all phone calls except for certain numbers. The same with text messages and other notifications.