cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Cosmic Ray

Note 20 Ultra up-close/macro photography is horrible compared to 10+

I am an avid photographer. I used to use a Canon DSLR for most of my photography (of antique/classic car shows, macro/flowers). Since getting my Note 10+ last year, it has been my primary/go-to camera.  From general photograpy to macro/up-close, it has done a fantasic job.  Folks rave about the photos I take with it.  Yes, sometimes the focus hunted and sometimes it was aggravating by focusing on the wrong part of the image I was trying to take, and yes distance photograpy was lacking a bit.  I took a 2-week driving vacation and never used my DSLR and almost every shot (over 3,000) is a keeper.

With all of the talk about the new cameras in the Note 20 Ultra,  I ordered one. It arrived yesterday/Wednesday.

After getting it fully running/charged/patched, I went outside (bright and sunny) and took some up-close shots of flowers.  The results were garbage.  Totally unusable/out-of-focus/over-blown. Using the default 108MP is useless (takes at least a second to save/store the image from the time I pressed the shutter button).  Even dropping back to the 12MP lens (which is slightly less resoluton than the 10+), the results were unusable.

Later in the evening, I decided to try it again in a more controlled environment. I propped both phones the same way (to remove hand-shake) and took the same shot with both phones (see below - unfortunately, this site would not let me upload the 108MP version of this shot due to size).

So, unless someone can tell me that I am "simply doing it wrong" (can't imaging what that could be) or "change this setting" or "you got a bad one - here are some shots I took with mine", I am ready to send it back to Samsung and say forget-it - not worth it!

Note 20 Ultra - 12MPNote 20 Ultra - 12MPNote 10+ 12MPNote 10+ 12MP

17 REPLIES 17
Highlighted
Comet