Original topic:

Privacy Questions

(Topic created: a month ago)
halley27
Constellation
Options
Note20

Assuming Samsung sync is not activated (logged in) on a Note 20, do the Samsung Notes and Gallery apps send notes, or any content viewable by Gallery, to anywhere off the user's phone ever, for any reason, even if temporarily processed, even if encrypted in transit, even if anonymized, even if without remote retention?  If so, who receives it (company names, including Samsung), and in each case, for what reason?

Question assumes user has stated consents required to use the apps, and asks for the specifics anyway.

Thinking particularly of, but not limited to, marketing, app usage research, internal Samsung development work, and any "necessary to provide features of the app" cases such as handwriting recognition and gallery tagging (which appears to scan/tag downloads, photos / videos / documents etc), which might be implemented by processing off the phone and results in sending this data off of the phone.  

Thank you Samsung, in advance, for complete disclosure.

0 Likes
1 Reply
SamsungRyder
Samsung Moderator
Samsung Moderator
Options
Note20

Hi, thank you for your question. If you have sync turned off, the things that would normally be synced are not sent anywhere, so long as sync is turned off. If you want more details on Samsung's privacy policy as a whole, here's the link for that: https://www.samsung.com/us/account/privacy-policy/

 

I hope this helps!

0 Likes