Original topic:

XCover Pro wireless charging

(Topic created: 03-26-2022 04:49 PM)
userJSbFzEGptB
Astronaut
Options
Other Mobile Devices

I have a new XCover Pro (AT&T) ... my first full day of using it. It doesn't seem to do wireless charging. On looking further on the beloved internet I see that wireless charging is available on "selected models." It did not occur to me that a feature like this would be dropped, that I had on Active S6 and Active S8. Why would Samsung take a step backward like that on such a basic functionality? Or maybe my new phone is just defective? How would I tell whether my model is supposed to do that?

Battery fried on my beloved S8. Otherwise I'd still be using it. So far appears to have been a much better phone than the XCover, but I wanted a rugged option from Samsung.

1 Reply
NicLyon
Asteroid
Options
Other Mobile Devices
Heads Up: This reply is purely based in educated speculation.

While as an Electrical Engineer, I can tell you that wireless charging will always be inefficient specifically between the wall outlet and the power company (*or but not necessarily* between the charger and the phone).

However I believe the main reason is because the xCover Pro is a business phone marketed towards businesses not individuals. You even have to call Samsung Business support to get support for this phone as they are not supposed to help you on the consumer customer service line (though sometimes they still will) Wireless charging doesn't make sense for a business... or at least I think that's Samsung's thinking ... I think they are wrong, some businesses would benefit from it.