Original topic:

Is there a way to remove ads in the Samsung Weather app?

(Topic created: 10-23-2020 10:01 PM)
userMjfk3Vngiq
Constellation
Options
Samsung Apps and Services

Hello, this is my first time here. I'm curious, is there any way to remove ads on the Samsung Weather app? Sometimes when I open the app it shows the weather and display a picture up top based on the current weather, but most of the time I see an ad and it's honestly annoying.

userQrLwSd3knG
Constellation
Options

I do use some apps with Ads. (usually, i buy, most my store apps are purchased, why ? good app is worthy)
Ad. is acceptable ONLY on "Free Services" or "Free Apps". Not on $1300 phone or any top and expensive devices. 

When comsumer do not want it and, still, can't even remove it, the only choice they have is not to use the product of samsung?

Why ? Why removing the app can't be an option?
Why push customer away? just because a Ad ?
No matter now much "Ads income" may, No customer, then

9999999....999999999 Ads x 0 customer = 0, easy math

Make ad away or removing option available, or Make customers away, Easy choice too.

0 Likes
megaroeny
Cosmic Ray
Options

Weather(.com) has ads on their platform, and since this weather app is using that as a dependancy, that's why there's ads. Samsung should aquire a third party so there's no ads maybe? That's what Apple did with DarkSky (unfortunately).

TheDukeOfFluke
Constellation
Options

I expect this kind of thing on a heavily subsidized, entry-level, or carrier branded phone (i can understand needing to recoup costs there), but NOT on a flagship that's sold at a premium price.

A $1300 Note 20 Ultra *should* have a first-party app experience untarnished by third-party ads. Come on, you're Samsung not Amazon. You've already gotten paid a huge chunk from us per phone, whether it's directly or through our carriers; trying to squeeze pennies out of us through these ads is not going to encourage us to come back to you for our next device.