Original topic:

Problems with OneUI 3.0 so far

(Topic created on: 3/31/21 1:43 PM)
wolfproctor
Astronaut
Options
Tablets
I'm a working artist who uses the S6 tab as a primary tool.

There are lot of things with this update that are downgrades compared with OneUI 2.5, which was actually quite lovely.

I'll start with the photo editor - v2.8 was good. The app now automatically trashes your original as default and no longer saves as a copy unless you tell it to - Every. Single. Time. This is a BIG workflow downgrade. Advanced Features that were in v2.8 are GONE. Poof. Samsung says no one was using it, but a lot of folks were. I certainly was. Also, the HUE button has been removed and replaced with a TONE button that does... yeah, there's a slight color shift, but does it actually DO anything?

On to the Gallery.. You can no longer change the file name of a photo within the editor or the gallery. Seriously?!? I'm currently going to the file manager to accomplish the same task. Again, a huge workflow downgrade. It also has rearranged my files and trashed a lot of my sorting and display settings, so this is another workflow downgrade and waste of my time.

Dex - I have a factory keyboard case made by Samsung that goes with my S6. The international/language button no longer works and my key mapping is screwed up. It was working fine in OneUI 2.5, the only change being this update.

Also, the new interface isn't nearly as pleasing to the eye. I might be able to overlook this if functionality was improved, but as it is its a constant reminder that this is actually a downgrade. 

This update is terrible and it seems I'm finding new problems every three or four days, and it was bad enough to prompt me to install this Members app and say so. I'm still considering backing up my files and doing a factory reset to get OneUI2.5 back.

I'm not at all happy with this update, Samsung.

For what I use my tablet for... It. Is. Awful.
4 Replies
wolfproctor
Astronaut
Options
Tablets