Original topic:

S24 Ultra water damage and stopped working

(Topic created: a month ago)
Members_VhTiJv1
Constellation
Options
Galaxy S24

Hi All,

i have an S24 ultra and while taking pics from the poolside not in the pool yesterday morning, water got splashed all over me and the phone and it stopped working. the device did not turn on at all i spoke to Samsung they informed me to take it to ubreakifix the authorized service center and they said it will cost 570 to fix the phone i bought for 750 dollars which is absurd. i have been using Samsung phones for the last 15 years this cannot be happening.

5 Replies
Axelrod
Constellation
Options
Galaxy S24
Put the phone in a bowl of rice. The rice would absorb the water. It may take about a day to drain. If it doesn't work out after that, I don't really know what else you can do.
0 Likes
realaud
Neutron Star
Options
Galaxy S24

Anytime your phone gets wet, do not turn it on while it's still wet. Let it dry for a day or two. These phones are supposed to be water resistant for accidents like that, but if water gets into the charging port it can damage the electronics. You should pick up some silicone USB port dust plugs (Amazon or Temu) and keep it inserted when you are not actually charging.

And Samsung touts the ipx rating on the phones, so, if you ask me, the water damage should be a warranty fix, since the water resistance actually failed. If it's what you say, and didn't actually fall into the deep end of the pool, and it was just a splash, the water resistance should have held up

lloyd420
Halo
Options
Galaxy S24
Why don't you add samsung care+ for $15/month? Wait for a month, and then file your claim.
0 Likes
usermzeJaY3BsM
Black Hole
Options
Galaxy S24