Original topic:

S21 or S22 or a different phone in 2024?

(Topic created: 3 weeks ago)
wexxs
Constellation
Options
Galaxy S21

My old crappy phone broke and I have been looking for an older refurbished flagship phone from Ebay or Amazon and I found these two phones. I was wanting to get a second opinion on which you guys think the better phone is to get in 2024. Or maybe even if I should go for a different type of phone like a Google Pixel or XIoami or something. Currently the S21 and the S22 are going for $150 and $210 respectively for each phone. I have no phone shopping experience so I have no real idea what to look out for so I may be a bit oblivious to obvious answers.

I really do appreciate you taking the time to read this, it really does mean a lot šŸ™‚

I did also post this on other subreddits as well just to get a few more respones.

8 Replies
realaud
Honored Contributor
Options
Galaxy S21

Well, here's some info for you that may assist in your decision. The S22 is failing for a lot of people after the recent One UI updates, so you might want to stick with the S21.  Especially if you are considering going for a newer phone later this year or next.  I don't think either is going to get the next round of Android system updates (not sure as I don't know the cycle of those phones).  If price is your main concern right now, I'd probably go with a newer A series phone that meets your needs and price range, that way you will get all the updates until you are ready for a new flagship. There are inherent problems with buying used phones as you don't know how they were treated when they were owned, and even if they passed any testing the reseller did, you still don't know what will fail first. I wouldn't buy anything that wasn't *factory* refurbished, and even then I'd think twice about it.

LongHiker
Galactic Samsung Care Ambassador
Options
Galaxy S21