JUMP TO SOLUTION Solved

Original topic:

S7 handset with keyboard cover EJ-CG930 / EJ-CG930UBEGUS unexpected behavior

(Topic created: 02-09-2024 11:23 AM)
wb0gaz
Asteroid
Options
Galaxy S Phones

I have been using a Samsung Galaxy S7 handset (SM-G930A) for several years, equipped with a snap-on QWERTY keyboard cover type number

EJ-CG930 / EJ-CG930UBEGUS

which is described on a samsung web page which I evidently cannot insert into this posting.

A few months ago my S7 was destroyed in a fall, however, the keyboard cover survived. I replaced the S7 with another of the same type (purchased used), however, this handset has stability problems (unexpected sensing of keyboard cover contacts), particularly when the handset is in a horizontal (lying on it's back) position.

I realize both the handset and keyboard cover are long out of production, however, I do not intend to type/swipe/etc. on glass, and the S7 and cover have proven for a long time to be a good solution (that is, until the handset was replaced.)

If you have any experience with this combination and troubleshooting a problem such as I describe, I'd very grateful for ideas or requests for clarifying information.

I do not intend to replace the handset with another model until sunset of 4G network capability in US.

I do not intend to migrate away from use of a physical QWERTY keyboard.

Thank you!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Solution
geek1
Halo
Options
Galaxy S Phones

It's unfortunate that you're experiencing stability issues with your Samsung Galaxy S7 and the snap-on QWERTY keyboard cover. Since both the handset and the keyboard cover are no longer in production, troubleshooting might involve some trial and error. Here are a few suggestions:

1. Clean Contacts: Ensure that the contacts on both the phone and the keyboard cover are clean and free from debris. Use a gentle, lint-free cloth to wipe the contacts on both the phone and the keyboard cover.