Original topic:

Samsung 990 Pro 1TB Failed To Update Firmware (4B2QJXD7)

(Topic created: 12-14-2023 12:45 AM)
MK300
Constellation
Options
Monitors and Memory

I'm trying to update my SSD to the latest firmware using Samsung Magician, but I can't get it to work after trying almost every trick in the book. (Currently on Version: 3B2QJXD7 trying to update to Version: 4B2QJXD7)

I have rebooted multiple times, tried 3 different Wifi networks, and stopped all other programs from running. Nothing seems to work.

Magician simply won't download the update, and it won't tell me why. It simply says "Failed to update".

I am aware that the update can be downloaded separately and installed using Linux "the hard way", but frankly I shouldn't have to do that, and i've never done it before so i'm not comfortable with it. 

It seems like the only solution is to uninstall Samsung Magician and not bother updating the firmware? 

67 Replies
Darkchiller
Astronaut
Options
Monitors and Memory

Having the same issue currently. Having software that should work as intended would be nice.

FyreDraygg
Astronaut
Options
Monitors and Memory

Same exact issue here on a 990Pro 1TB, except it won't even give an error. Magician just behaves as if the firmware update did happen and prompts a system shutdown, then when the PC is restarted it just says the same update is available again. The firmware never changes from 3B2QJXD7 and the new version is never actually installed.

I tried the Linux boot ISO method and that didn't work either, the update utility just reported "No supported SSD detected for firmware update"

I also have a 990Pro 2TB unit installed and that one updated just fine.

ntinosterpsis
Astronaut
Options
Monitors and Memory

I have the same issue with 990 Pto 4TB. It says firmware update fails with no more information about it.

mhasteley
Astronaut
Options
Monitors and Memory