Original topic:

Samsung 990 Pro 1TB Failed To Update Firmware (4B2QJXD7)

(Topic created: 2 weeks ago)
MK300
Constellation
Options
Monitors and Memory

I'm trying to update my SSD to the latest firmware using Samsung Magician, but I can't get it to work after trying almost every trick in the book. (Currently on Version: 3B2QJXD7 trying to update to Version: 4B2QJXD7)

I have rebooted multiple times, tried 3 different Wifi networks, and stopped all other programs from running. Nothing seems to work.

Magician simply won't download the update, and it won't tell me why. It simply says "Failed to update".

I am aware that the update can be downloaded separately and installed using Linux "the hard way", but frankly I shouldn't have to do that, and i've never done it before so i'm not comfortable with it. 

It seems like the only solution is to uninstall Samsung Magician and not bother updating the firmware? 

66 Replies
Members_FFY6SKL
Constellation
Options
Monitors and Memory

I have the exact same issue.  Almost 3 months after your otoƱal post and there is no solution from samsung. 

0 Likes
15Degrees
Astronaut
Options
Monitors and Memory

I am using two 990 pro 1TB drives in my machine. I won't be updating from 3B2QJXD7. Both drives work fine and I really can't be arsed with breaking my machine for the limited benefits an update "might" bring which I suspect are zero!

0 Likes
Graaf Dirk III
Asteroid
Options
Monitors and Memory

There is some more circumstantial evidence that the problem of denial to update the firmware has something to do with the Intel RST VMD Managed Controller. I found the Samsung NVMeā„¢ Driver Installation Guide (March 2020, version 3.3) which specifies that the correct installation of the driver can be verified by checking the Windows Device Manager. Under "Storage controllers" should be displayed: "Microsoft Storage Spaces Controller" and "Samsung NVMe Controller".